“Wickedly They Come” AudioBook Review!

Hiya peeps! DRR has another audiobook review to share with you today!

Please feel free to check it out below, and let me know what you think of this book in the comments below!

Wickedly They Come

 Wickedly They Come

~Released: January 22nd, 2017
(Audiobook Edition)

~Length: 7 hours and 46 minutes

~Parent’s Guide: PG-13

~Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Dark Fantasy

A gripping, dark fantasy!

A Destined Prophecy: “The White Warrior will be one with Lucifer and God will weep.”

Haunting visions and supernatural talents are the norm for the sixteen-year-old warrior, Jordan and her mother Seeley. Together with their formidable angels they find themselves in peril when a wicked sorcerer is determined to fulfill the prophecy to his lord, Lucifer.

After an ominous vision of spirits inhabiting teenagers in a local school, Jordan enrolls in the social culture of teendom at Elma High to combat soulless demons. She encounters Mark, a mysterious new classmate, who is hell bent on keeping her unscathed from the forces of evil.

The battle between Heaven and Hell is escalating—and Earth is their battleground.

 About the Author

 C. Constantine

Cathrina Constantine resides in Western New York with her husband, five children, two happy-go-lucky Labrador Retrievers and two cats. After a  long hiatus while raising her family, Constantine finally picked up pen and paper and began to hone her craft of writing, then eventually confiscated her son’s computer. She is excited to have her debut novel, Wickedly They Come published by Black Opal Books, and has a signed for her second novel, Tallas.

Cathrina is represented by The Belcastro Literary Agency, and is extremely happy to be working with Sharon Belcastro and Ella Marie Mohan Shupe.

When not with her family, baking, crafting, reading, or stationed at the computer writing, you will find her walking in the backwoods with her dogs, daydreaming.

Goodreads ~ Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook

 My Review

 3 Roses

Lots of demons, lots of supernatural lore, lots of Catholicism.

I am a chick who’s into demonology, studying legends and folklore, and figuring out the supernatural. I enjoy it in real life, and I enjoy it in fiction. Coming across this novel easily peaked my interest, as the synopsis sounds right up my alley. For the most part, it is.

It’s a point of personal confliction to me, as I’m not Catholic, and this book is basically all Catholic lore and traditions. I generally can’t get over the eye rolls the confused beliefs trigger in me. Still, as much as I don’t agree with Catholic beliefs or views on the supernatural in my personal life, or generally enjoy stories saturated in them, this book still entertained me, and I didn’t want to stop listening.

That’s saying a lot.

I have yet to come across a novel so filled with supernatural elements, in a contemporary and rather authentic setting. It wasn’t a setting where every person had gifts, or an alternate reality, as most I’ve found tend to be. In a wonderful way, it was realistic, and I could tell the author had done quite a bit of research on the topics she wrote about. For a student of the supernatural, this story was a fantastic find.

The personal conflict with the themes only took it down a rose for me, which really is impressive – I usually don’t even bother finishing a book like this. Another rose was lost for me, however, from my annoyance with the narrator. While she did a good job, her voice, for whatever reason, gave me a headache. Not her fault, but as an honest reviewer, it is something I experienced, that took away from my ability to enjoy listening to seven and a half hours of narration.

The book itself is just fine, and the flow was pretty good. The names were confusing, and it seemed as though some of the character building was a little off, although not enough to really bother me much. It did have quite a bit of teen angst and high school drama/emotion, but when we’re following a sixteen-year-old girl, that’s to be expected.

Overall, I did enjoy this novel, and if I didn’t have the personal background I do, I’d probably list it as one of my favorites for this genre. If you don’t share my views on Catholic lore and tradition, and you enjoy novels of this nature, you will most definitely enjoy this book.

*I was given a complimentary audiobook copy of this novel, from the author via Audiobookworm Promotions, to read in exchange for an honest review.

**Parents guide: PG-13 for gore and possibly frightening scenes & elements, and some language

Thanks for visiting! =D

Feel free to leave a reply! :)

